My life

I was born deaf in New Zealand, my dad is deaf and my mum is hearing and my little brother Elijah who is hearing. My dad was born deaf and his family are all deaf, also my mum’s family are all hearing. I have the best of both worlds but I rather to be in deaf world because all my life in New Zealand I went to mainstream school and they have no deaf student only me.

When I was 3 years old my mum got a job in Australia in a deaf school, so me and my brother and my parents moved to Sydney. I went to a pre school next to the deaf school, I didn’t like it so my mum asked the principal of the deaf school to see if I can go to school early because I was 4 years old. I loved my school, I had lots of deaf friends and this school made me feel like I belong there.

After 2 years in Sydney, we went back to New Zealand to be with my family. My dad’s side lived in Christchurch and mum’s side lived in Wellington where we live now. I was 6 years old when I went to my first hearing school in St Pius X in Titahi Bay, I had no communicator, interpreter or a teacher aide for the whole week and full time. I only had a teacher of the deaf on one day a week and only for a hour, but I’m very lucky because I had a teacher who went to night class to learn sign language, sometimes she would interpret what people sais and interpret what she said. And I had lots of friends, all of them learned sign language and keen to interpret everyday, we even made a schedule of who would interpret that time. From year 2 to year 3 were the best times because I had the same teacher for 2 years. But when this teacher had left to go to teach a different school, I had a interpreter only for short time in a day on a week, I started to rely on my friends too much because I don’t understand a thing when the interpreter was not here. My friends started to leave me and started to blame me and getting me into trouble, I was so stressed and depressed because that time I had no idea of what I did to make them don’t like me even my best friend too, we’ve been in jazz and cheerleading together for about 4 years and then she pulled out.

In 2013, I was 12 nearly 13 years old, I started intermediate school in Sacred Heart Thorndon. I chose this school because a deaf guy came to this school  a year before I went, to teach sign language to year 6, 7 and 8. And also I chose this school because my older cousin went to Sacred Heart too. My brother Eli went to Sacred Heart at the same time as me but he was in year 5 and I was in year 7. I loved this school, this school had one deaf boy in the same year as me too, and I made new friends, but there were some enemies too but I was not stressed or depressed like before, I was strong because when I first heard (I still can hear little bit but I have to listen in full volume) my favourite singer Selena Gomez sing ‘Who Says’ and also Demi Lovato sings ‘Warrior’. I felt even more stronger than ever, Selena was my idol, I knew her through Wizards of Waverly Place.

And now in 2016, I’m year 10 in St Marys College Wellington, I also chose this school because of my cousin went there too, she was year 13 when I was year 9 and she was our Head Girl, I was so proud. Also I have 2 second cousin, they’re twins and also they were year 13 with my cousin too, now they’ve left. From year 7 to now I have a full time interpreter in whole week, my parents fight for a really long time and now I got what I need. I’ve had the same interpreter from when I was in year 4 til now, she’s like my best friend/interpreter, I talk to her like a friend not a interpreter.

Early this year my other little brother Carter was born and he was deaf, I was so happy because I got what I dreamed and Eli got what he wants too, he wants a brother and I wanted to have a deaf brother or sister.img_6125Now we have to fight for what he need for school because there are no deaf school in Wellington and New Zealand too, people always say that there are 2 deaf schools in Auckland and in Christchurch but they stopped ages ago after the time my mum worked there in Christchurch and also they are a high school but we need primary school.

My parents fight for me from the day I was born til now and now I will do the same for my little brother Carter too. 🙂

“Who says that you’re not perfect , who says that you’re not worth it.” – Selena Gomez

7 thoughts on “My life

  1. maureen says:

    oh zoe this is so clearly written…about your life experience in our ignorant hearing world…you would make a good journalist..and your grandparents are so very proud of you…+ your parents done an excellent job with you x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ann says:

    Fantastic to read your story Zoe! Thank you for all the time and effort you put into it. And what amazing parents you have too!
    I’m glad Eli now has the little brother he wanted and Carter certainly is a very lucky boy to have a big sister like you fighting for him.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. John says:

    I have been surfing online greater than three hours lately, yet I never found any fascinating article
    like yours. It’s lovely worth sufficient for
    me. In my opinion, if all web owners and bloggers made good content
    material as you probably did, the net can be much more
    helpful than ever before.

    Like

Leave a Reply

